Aboriginal Justice Inquiry Child Welfare Initiative
Link to Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Link to Manitoba Metis Federation Link to Manitoba Keewatinow Okimakinak Link to Province of Manitoba

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee was comprised of the signatories to the Memoranda of Understanding and the Child Family Services Protocol. Its membership included:

  • Grand Chief Dennis White Bird of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs, representing southern First Nations
  • Grand Chief Sydney Garrioch of the Manitoba Ininew Keewatinowi Okimakanak, representing northern First Nations
  • President David Chartrand of the Manitoba Metis Federation, representing Metis people
  • Spokesperson Rosemary McPherson of the Metis Women of Manitoba
  • Minister Christine Melnick (chair), Manitoba Family Services and Housing, representing the Government of Manitoba
  • Minister Oscar Lathlin, Manitoba Aboriginal and Northern Affairs, representing the Government of Manitoba

The Executive Committee was responsible for overseeing and directing the initiative as a whole.


Go to Top of Page